Leicester City Women Football Club

Leicester City Women announce squad for 2018/19 season

Leicester City Women Manager Jonathan Morgan has today confirmed his squad for their inaugural campaign in the FA Women’s Championship.

  • 10 players retained from the 2017/18 squad who finished 2nd in the FA Women’s National League Northern Division.
  • New Signings Freda Ayisi and Melissa Johnson are amongst 13 new faces in the 2018/19 squad.
  • Players came together for pre-season training on 2 July 2018.
  • The Foxes will begin the season tomorrow with a home match against Bristol City Women in the Continental Tyres League Cup.

Ahead of their inaugural campaign in the 2018/19 FA Women’s Championship, Leicester City Women Manager Jonathan Morgan has been busy finalising his 23-player squad before the season starts.

Earlier this week Leicester City Women announced the signings of highly-rated forwards Freda Ayisi and Melissa Johnson who both bring a wealth of experience to the Club.

Midfielders Sherry McCue and Maddy Cusack have joined the Foxes from Sheffield FC and Birmingham City respectively whilst Taome Oliver also adds to the options in midfield, signing for the Club having left Oxford United at the end of last season. Former Nottingham Forest Ladies midfielder Natasha Hudson has also joined the Foxes for the 2018/19 campaign.

Leicester City Women defensive options have also been bolstered with the signings of Sarah Jackson from Sheffield FC and Ella Franklin-Fraiture and goalkeeper Demi Lambourne who both join from Oxford United with full-back Serena Fletcher signing from Manchester City.

Former City striker Fiona Worts has also re-signed for the Club having finished studying Mathematics at university whilst Lucy Johnson and Freya Thomas complete the new additions, stepping up from Leicester City’s RTC.

Leicester City Women Manager Jonathan Morgan said: “I’m delighted with the players that we’ve kept on from last season, it shows the development of our Club. We competed at the top end of the National division last season and we’re now ready to step up.

We’ve also added some excellent quality to our squad and I firmly believe we’re ready for the challenges of the FA Women’s Championship and I hope we can take the league by storm.”

Leicester City Women 2018/19 Squad (Previous Club):


  • Charlotte Clarke (Retained)
  • Demi Lambourne (Oxford United Ladies – WSL2)


  • Serena Fletcher (Manchester City Women – WSL1)
  • Ella Franklin-Fraiture (Oxford United Ladies – WSL2)
  • Charlotte Greengrass (Retained)
  • Sarah Jackson (Sheffield FC – WSL2)
  • Hayley James (Retained)
  • Lucy Johnson (Leicester City RTC)
  • Holly Morgan (Retained)


  • Maddy Cusack (Birmingham City Women – WSL1)
  • Natasha Hudson (Nottingham Forest Ladies – FAWNL North)
  • Nat Johnson (Retained)
  • Sherry McCue (Sheffield FC – WSL2)
  • Mai Moncaster (Retained)
  • Taome Oliver (Oxford United Ladies – WSL2)
  • Nicole Nymoen (Retained)
  • Freya Thomas (Leicester City RTC)


  • Rosie Axten (Retained)
  • Freda Ayisi (Birmingham City Women – WSL1)
  • Sophie Domingo (Retained)
  • Leigh Dugmore (Retained)
  • Melissa Johnson (Sheffield FC – WSL2)
  • Fiona Worts (AFC Guiseley Vixens – FAWNL North)

The Leicester City Women squad for 2018/19